T-to-the-A

A Writer’s (somewhat soothed) Panic

In The Daily Drool on March 24, 2010 at 9:29 am

Well, it seems that things will be okay with Mac – apparently my batch had a problem with their logic boards- a totally covered repair. 

(sigh)

So I can breathe again. 

But I’ve got to say, I had grown quite accostomed to my morning routine of getting up, having my OJ and checking all my inter-goodies at hte kitchen table from my dear little laptop.  Right now I am hunched in the corner over my very reliable and friendly PC- I do appreciate it, I really do- it’s just not quite the same.  Probably because the desk my PC is housed on is covered in things that need to be sorted, filed, and put awaay.  It’s like working in a disaster zone, office style. 

Also, my fingers had grown quite accostomed to the laptop keyboard.  The regular size of my desktop keyboard is very, very confusing indeed. 

BUT, that’s the update there.  I think what yesterday’s panic showed me is that I’ve grown quite attached to that little package of metal and magic.  It’s an extension of my thoughts, my brain sort of just plugs into it and when you’re a writer, well, that kind of creative bond is pretty damn important. 

The only major drawback to the repair is that it’s going to take SEVEN days!  I mean, I’m moving on Weds. and I prob won’t get it back until Tues.  That makes me very nervous.  But at least it’s getting fixed. 

Oh, I also had just finished my essay for the Princess Grace playwriting Fellowship before it blanked out.  Yeah, now I have to completely rewrite it!  Or mayb I can go in with a hard drive and ask them to put it all on there for me… I’ve got to call and see if that’s an option.

(sigh) If it’s not one thing, it’s another.  I really, REALLY hope this is it for catastrophe’s for a while.  I thought it was just 2009, but The Year of Adversity and Change seems to have leaked onto 2010… I really hope that this move brings postitive changes and good ol’ Happy Tiffany back to the forefront.

Leave a comment