T-to-the-A

The Bad Kitty Blues

In The Daily Drool on May 15, 2010 at 1:18 pm

My parents and I are currently living with five cats… that’s two more cats than humans.

It’s risky business.

But this morning we discovered that their little boy cat, Ceasar, has been spraying his mark all over the house for quite some time (pre-me +my 2 kitties moving in) and I had the indelible pleasure of helping scrub away at cat urine with bleach, a toothbrush, and some tough rubber gloves.

I think my nostrils are permanently singed…

You see, my parents have cement flooring (it looks like lovely stone though, I had no idea you could do this with concrete) It at least makes for easier clean up; just pour on the bleach and watch it bubble.  YES.  Cat urine + bleach = a foaming, toxic mess that is sure to bring tears to your eyes.  I had no idea, but I almost lost my senses… seriously, I can’t smell anything right now.  They could probably use the combo to create weapons of mass disruption.  Forget smoke bomb, how about a Urine Bomb.  Blech!

Anyway, after all the hidden potty-places were discovered and scoured, I found that I had quite lost any and all respect I once had for Sir Ceasar… and I just hope and pray that my cats aren’t influenced by his bad boy behavior.

Additionally, my parents are concerned that they may have to give him up if he doesn’t stop doing it… any tips on how to nip this problem?

  1. be careful with the bleach – you probably know that cat urine contains ammonia and mixing the two can be deadly…
    How old is the cat? Could be having thyroid problems. Is he vocalizing a lot at night? Is he losing/gaining weight? I’d take him to the vet and get his bloodwork done and test for kidney infection.
    http://www.getridofthings.com/get-rid-of-cat-urine.htm

  2. Whoa, way to freak out the hypochondriac! So, now i know why my eyes were burning and I was seeing little green men… Umm, seriously tho, thanks. I don’t think he’s sick in the physical sense, just in his stupid little head. He’s totally active, friendly, and fine. But my parents might be needing to tend to the cat pen (they have an outside potty) ugh.

  3. And apparently I wasn’t too far off on my estimations of the militaristic uses of a “Urine” bomb…

    (source)

    “Often, one looks at a bottle of bleach and wonders, ‘Why shouldn’t this be mixed with ammonia?’ If you know how dangerous chlorine gas is to humans (it was used as a chemical weapon during World War I and later by Nazi Germany in World War II), this will be very apparent. This entry will tell of a few reactions that can occur when bleach and ammonia are mixed in various proportions – the release of chlorine gas is just one of these. In the following sections, the header will be the name of the most dangerous compound produced in the reaction shown. Please, do not try any of this at home.

    Chlorine Gas (Cl2)

    That warning is there to protect you. Household bleach has a chemical formula of NaOCl – that is, one atom each of sodium, oxygen, and chlorine. Its chemical name, for the curious, is sodium hypochlorite. Ammonia has a chemical formula of NH3, that is, one atom of nitrogen and three atoms of hydrogen. When these two compounds are combined, the following reaction takes place:

    2(parts)NaOCl + 2NH3 –> 2NaONH3 + Cl2.

    Do you see that Cl2 on the right hand side there? This means one part chlorine gas, made up of diatomic (two atom) molecules. It also means that the chlorine gas has been liberated from the bleach, and is quite capable of causing you harm when inhaled!

    The Pain! The Pain!

    To understand the effects chlorine gas has on the body, we first need to understand the chemical properties of chlorine, particularly its valence, or number of chemical bonds chlorine can form. Chlorine is in the seventh of the traditional groups of elements, one before the group of inert gases, which, as their name suggests, are almost completely unreactive. Chlorine has seven electrons in its outer electron shell.

    The Octet Rule states that all elements try to fill in their outer electron shell until they have eight electrons. When a chemical has eight electrons in its outer shell, it is then stable. Being so close to having 8 electrons in its outer shell, chlorine is quite desperate to get that one last electron – and will literally rip other atoms apart to do so. This is what happens to your respiratory system when you inhale chlorine gas. The gas tears into your nasal passages, trachea, and lungs by causing massive cellular damage. Obviously, chlorine gas causes a very painful death.”

  4. As always my friend – you’re right on the money!!!

  5. Well you can always get him neutered. That is supposed to stop it. It worked for my cat. He hated us for a while after wards though. But the concrete floor is really cool. I heard they get really cold and condensate though. But this was really funny.

  6. Ack, see he’s already been neutered! So he shouldn’t be misbehaving like this, right?! The little punk. I could make some derogatory remark about him being male, and males always wanting to mark their territory no matter the species but… (sigh) that won’t help the matter, will it? 😉

Leave a Reply

