T-to-the-A

3-Page Challenge

In Playwriting, The Daily Drool on March 6, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Here’s the deal – I tend to be a “Write by the seat of my pants” kind of girl – very little discipline and a whole lotta prayers.  I write when I’m feeling ‘moved’ or when I have a deadline, but I also  spend a lot of time allowing myself to watch T.V. or play solitaire.  Not good habits to have.

So I’m issuing a 3-page a day personal challenge.

YOWZA!

Some of you may be wondering “Tiffany, why Yowza?  3 pages isn’t a very impressive number…”  Well, Some of You, 3 pages a day might not sound that hard, but trust me, it is.

A lot happens in three pages!  And making a three page a day quota is pretty serious stuff…  If I do this, really do it, I’ll have 66 pages at the end of the month!  That’s a lot (and I’m allowing one day off a week, although I may not take it)

Since I’m already 22 pages into my current egg, that means I could have the darn thing finished (in rough draft, at least) by the end of the month.

What about you?  Anybody want to join me?  Or do you already follow a page-quota routine?

  1. Hmmmm. Ten pages a day = one screenplay in ten days. 🙂 But, normally, I do follow a page-quota routine. I tend to follow a five to fifteen routine, shooting for ten or thereabouts when I’m in draft mode. Page quotas are very, very good. Keeps you writing rhythm steady. One good thing is to arise, nefore you fully wake -up, sit down at the computer and churn out the pages – then have your tea and what not, come back and fix those pages up, maybe add a little to them and then your done for the day! (I’m not all that good at this. But it works.)

  2. I try to stick to 5 a day when I’m writing pages. (I spend time developing stuff too, when actually pages aren’t being written.) It’s never easy!

  3. I’ll join, but only after the Oscars…I’m on page 69 currently and want to get to about page 90, so we’re talking one week for a first draft! Lovin’ it.

  4. Yeesh! See, the thing about a 3-page target is that anything beyond that is gravy… Doc, 10 pages a day!? Sometimes I do 15, but somedays I just get 2 – if I made 10 my daily target I’d hate myself 5 days out of 7.

    Alright then… I’ll be sure to keep ya’ll updated!

  5. Hahahaha. Well, I like to push myself a little too much, Tiff! Five pages, I do find is a nice sane level. You know? Though three pages, sounds pretty sweet to me, too.

  6. 5 pages sounds like a good number too… The thing is that when I write plays I’m not working off an outline, (I’m wreckless like that I guess) so 3 pages is way more appropriate as I battle it out.

    Plus, does blogging count towards my overall page count? Hmmm…. Maybe on the off days.

Leave a Reply

