T-to-the-A

The Mighty Purge

In The Daily Drool on March 5, 2010 at 11:06 am

Ooooo, I have a lot of stuff.  It is everywhere.  I look around my apartment and am disgusted with its silent, steady bid to overtake any and all surfaces… Perhaps it is high time I get rid of everything, for “everything” seems to have taken over, and I’m not strong enough to wrestle it back into its drawer/shelf/nook/or/cranny.

I don’t like to make my bed in the morning, I like to straighten it just as I’m about to climb into it for the night.  I don’t like to wash dishes until I need to use them because the pay-off (using them) is really the only draw of splashing in suds and scrubbies.  I pretty much tend to forget to pay attention to the state of my surroundings until I’ve been away from them for a while, or until someone other, someone from the outside, comes into my place.  Then I clap my hands to my newly-seeing eyes in shock and wonder:  “DO I LIVE HERE?!”

Yes, it’s good that I will be shedding many/most of my belongings in this move.  I don’t need all of these things, and I don’t know how to manage them.  I’m not messy, per se, I’m just very unorganized.  And impatient.  And I spend so much time in my imagination that I’m able to imagine a more spacious, better designed, and highly organized life along with everything else I’m cooking up.  It’s only when I’m out of toothpaste, out of clean spoons, and can’t find my keys that reality comes crashing through.

(sigh)

Time to clean house.

Leave a Reply

