T-to-the-A

When it rains…

In Essays, The Daily Drool on February 14, 2010 at 10:11 am

Well.

Today, was…. a day.

My car overheated and stalled out on me in Van Nuys.  I was on my way to Valencia – thank GOD it didn’t crap out on me there – and it started overheating, so I pulled off and “POP!”  No more oomph.

And while I had smartly called my dad for some “My car is reading really hot!” advice, it was at this point all the fatherly wisdom in the world couldn’t help me move my car.  Thank goodness for the three gentlemen who heeded my (forehead bunched, eyes misty, hands up in the air in pre-panic) “CAN ANYONE HELP ME MOVE MY CAR?!” call after several others had driven around me.

And after all the “WTF?!” was subsided, I managed to find a friendly voice at a Hyundai dealer in Van Nuys who was able to help me get my car transported to their (closed till Monday) service center.  I will admit, seeing her friendly face after the morning’s trials was a sweet relief!  Especially when the first dealer I called offered me about as much help as wet noodle in a thunderstorm.  “Oh, you’re stuck?  Well, here, have some attitude!”  Honestly, I’ve never been so frustrated and stymied by the lack of customer service.  Not only were the idiots at the Hyundai dealership in L.A. uninterested in helping me get to their dealer, they couldn’t care less about trying to help me find a way to contact the one closer to me.  (There is a strongly worded letter heading their way, believe you me!)

And then my dear friend Doc, as caring a man as you could dream of, drove to rescue me from my Valley adventure.

Because, when it rains, it pours, and sometimes you need a friend to bring you an umbrella.

I’ve gone through a lot this past year, and it’s time like this- when the people around me amaze me with their generous spirit and love – that I manage to fight back the rising panic and find some joy in the storm.

  1. ”Oh, you’re stuck? Well, here, have some attitude!”

    Well put! I hate this reaction from people that really should be helping you. From people whose job is to help you.

    And wow, is there any story that doesn’t end up with Doc appearing as the valiant hero in the 3rd act?” That guy needs a logo and a supersuit, stat!

  2. Haha, supersuit and logo seconded! And he should get the ability to fly or move things with his mind or something as a bonus…

  3. “I’ve gone through a lot this past year, and it’s time like this- when the people around me amaze me with their generous spirit and love – that I manage to fight back the rising panic and find some joy in the storm.” — I really like that. It’s great that you can look at the good side in this 🙂

  4. Nothing good ever happens in the valley.

Leave a Reply

