T-to-the-A

Downtown Germs

In The Daily Drool on February 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

I woke up today with a little squeak.  I mean, I quite literally am squeaking when I take a deep breathe.

That can’t be good.

So I made an apointment for la’ doctuer… It’s funny, because with Kaiser you are asking to enter the medical village- there is always someone there who can see you!  And my appointment is set for 1:35.  I’m kind of excited.

Especially if there’s a chance they will help bring an end to this cold’s reign of terror.

Because I didn’t realize until later last night that I had had a fever for about 2 days straight…  I mean, it wasn’t until the fever broke and all of a sudden I could see straight that thought to myself “Hmmm, I think I’ve been above temperature normal!”  And the relief was astounding.  The headache was gone.

It was wonderful.

And then my roomate took pity on me and brought me fresh kleenex, orange juice, and soup.  This is why it is better to live with somebody.  (And for times when you lock yourself out, among others)

But all this to say, in a very disjointed way because my stuffy brain is still not making the most sense, that I am assigning blame of this cootie invasion to my day of extra work on CSI:New York last week.  Yup, all day out in the cold in Downtown Los Angeles- where the gross and disgusting germs pool around each other and stew more gross and disgusting germs, and where each breathe is rife with unpleasant smells and sensations… where buildings lie vacant and cars sputter their noxious, ozone defeating fumes… where homeless stroll lost and men with questionable hygeine walk up and down alleys spewing “The End Is Coming”…

That is, I think, where this noxious little bugger entered my system and took up its cause.

Well, I’m going to the Doctor and I’m getting some drugs to help kick this little bastard’s ass!

And I’m not heading back downtown anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

