T-to-the-A

Sick Day

In The Daily Drool on February 9, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Snot.

I hate it.

I hate trying to fall asleep, only to be kept awake by the constant drip, drip, drip of the stuff… So maybe you fold up some tissue and wedge it into your nostrils in a pitiful, “I-don’t-care-what-this-looks-like-or-if-it-will-have-permanent-repercussions-for-my-nostrils” attempt to staunch the drip.  Maybe you prop the pillow against your now-open jaw so you can mouth-breath without that fretful waking at the moment it truly relaxes and plops open even further…

And maybe you preface the whole process with a couple of Nyquil capsules and a brief prayer that this nastiness go away sososososo quickly, please!

But waking up the next morning and surveying the wreckage of your bed, and the dissarray of tissue… well, it’s really nothing compared to realizing, at 12:30 in the afternoon, that this cold from hell has also taken your sense of smell.

Yes.

I smeared the Vix all over my chest only to realize 30 seconds in that I was wrinkling my nose out of memory… I couldn’t really smell it!  Doubting myself, I went so far as to stick my nose INTO the jar and inhale deeply… a couple of times – Nothing.

Who wants to bring me chicken noodle soup?

  1. You need 12 hour decongestant nose spray. I can’t live without that stuff when my nose is full, especially during the night. Go get some! That’s an order! 😉

Leave a Reply

