T-to-the-A

Dreaming in metaphor…

In The Daily Drool on February 5, 2010 at 9:22 am

Well, it’s not the first time I’ve done this. In fact, if I’m to look at the inner workings of my mind, I may not understand the machinations of it but I think it would distinctly resemble a miniature home theatre system as I tend to see the world around me in metaphor or allegorically.  It’s one of the reasons I’m such a great teacher (yes, I’ve been told)  because I am able to translate the lesson into something concrete and visible.  AND, if I’m honest, it’s something I particularly like about me.  I enjoy this gift of illustration.  It’s evident in my writing too, as I generally tend to start a story from a visual place.

Which is why I shouldn’t be surprised at last night’s dreams… dreams so vivid that I kind of woke up exhausted.  Dreams so obvious that I woke up shakiing my head and almost chuckling.  See, last night I was driving… racing even… and I couldn’t see where I was going.  The car was hard to control and there were too many obstacles and I felt myself steering from further and further away until the car was in the distance and I was holding the wheel from just beyond view… and it was freaking me out BIG TIME.

And then I turned my head and my parents were there… I was inside their car.  And I told them I’d stalled out and could they please drive for a while.

Which is fantastic because that is EXACTLY what is happening right now.

So, I suppose you could say that my subconscious and I are on the same page about “Tiffany’s State of the Union.”  I can’t put my finger on it exactly, but there is something reassuring about that kind of synergy.

Leave a Reply

