T-to-the-A

Understanding Process

In Playwriting, The Daily Drool on January 21, 2010 at 11:00 am

I haven’t left my house for the last three days and it wasn’t because of the rain (although it’s certainly not an enticement.)  No, the reason I haven’t left the house is because I was writing, writing, writing- and I had to get to the end of this new version of a treatment I’m working on.  I had to get to the end before I could do anything else.

And now that I made it, I’m like, looking at a crazy long list of things I need to do outside the bubble of home.

But this is how I work, it’s my routine- and I’m finally at a place where I can understand this about myself – this drive to complete things once started and to push real-life things aside whilst sorting out the imagined ones.

And I think it’s interesting- that my focus can be so overtaken with an idea and then completely immersed in the real as soon as I feel I’ve made enough progress.  It’s like unplugging or something.

So, today I’m tackling the list… Some of it is just “Drop off resumes!”  and other things read “Buy Milk!”

That rain though… it sure a lovely encouragement to “Stay home.”  It’s been a great companion these past three days of writing.

  1. Personally I love all this rain! I mean, for crying out loud, it made waterfalls here in Topanga Canyon. Waterfalls hundreds of feet tall. What’s not to love?

  2. I know! It’s reminding me of Scotland… One of my favorite days there was driving through the countryside rife with waterfalls! I had no idea of their abundance over there. It was magical! Glad you’re getting to see some in your canyon 🙂

Leave a Reply

