T-to-the-A

Oh, the words!

In Playwriting, The Daily Drool on January 3, 2010 at 4:17 pm

I’m really into this “Under Construction” analogy apparently, because as I sit down to yet MORE rewrites on my latest play, I find myself equating it to a build-it-yourself item that, upon sitting back with a happy sigh, you suddenly realize (as you survey your accomplishment) that it doesn’t quite look right and there are a few forgotten pieces stuck behind the tool box.

I’ve been working on this play for a while now- it’s the first one I’ve written entirely sans-workshop environment – so that in itself is pretty cool.  BUT, since that first-draft “I did this alone!” completion I HAVE been workshopping it and its little bumps and hiccups have gotten more and more irritating to me, it’s creator, as we go along.  I finally had to put the script in front of some fresh eyes and am happy to say the discussion born of that labor was incredibly invigorating.

However, I’m going to have to do a fair bit of dismanteling in order to address those fruits, and that, my friends, is exhausting.

Which is why, as I was staring at those words, those many, many not-yet-paying-off words… I decided to hop over here and vent for a moment.  Writing is hard work.  It’s wonderful, delightful, and deeply rewarding, but it’s damn hard work.

Leave a Reply

