T-to-the-A

The Holiday Letter

In The Daily Drool on December 12, 2009 at 9:03 am

Now, I know there are countless numbers among you who have slaved over this time-honored tradition… some of you may have lost sleep, developed a nasty eye twitch, or even fallen asleep at the keys winding up with something akin Greetings from the HOFFENzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz only to wake up in a panic and churn out a substitute letter in half the time.

But I do not walk among you.

Oh, I’ve tried to be festive, sending out the holiday cheer… I even bought Christmas cards a few years ago.  Mhm, yes I did.  They’re sitting on the same shelf as the wrapping paper, and I reach past them every year with a slight ting of guilt because I have never sent them out.

I don’t have time.

Or, I have the time, but I have other things I’d like to do with it.

Like write this…

But really, until I have a family of my own to brag about (and let’s face it, when that happens, I’ll probably talk about them all the time right here anyway, making a holiday card mute… or akin to something like this – “Happy Holidays!  I’m not clogging up your mailbox with another Holiday Letter because you should be pretty much up-to-date per my fablous blog.  For you slackers out there, shame!  Santa be angry! Click here to catch up and we’ll call it even.”)  Wow, that was a long parenthetical!  The point being thus, I haven’t a lot to tell you that you shouldn’t already know.

But, I do enjoy receiving everyone else’s little cards, photos, and recaps.  I look at every single one of them, I get a bit jealous at my friends who have husbands and children, and I think “Wow, will I ever count myself amongst the coupled?”  Then I eat a cookie, stay up as late as I want, and refuse to wash my hair for a full day and half just because I CAN DAMMIT, and I feel better.

(sigh)

But joyful, joyful, to all and to all (in lieu of an actual Christmas Card from me)  Merry HanaChrismaKwanzaWhatever-you-celebrate!

Leave a Reply

