T-to-the-A

Lunch Lady Blues

In The Daily Drool on December 9, 2009 at 1:23 pm

I hate lunchtime.

I hate trying to figure out what to eat, when all I want is someone to just make it for me.

Because I can only have so many sandwiches, hot dogs, and yogurts before I want to go running out to CPK and pay someone too much money to make me a Waldorf Chicken Salad and bring me some fresh squeezed lemonade.

Because my stomach doesn’t like “lunch” food.

Why, I even remember a year where I would fantasize about dinner so much during my morning classes that I would go home and make a dinner meal for lunch!  I’m talking spaghetti, steak and mashed potatoes, full on dinner!  And then I’d have to come up with another appropriate meal at the actual hour for such feasts.  Suffice to say, I gained some poundage.

But I just loathe lunchtime!

I mean, breakfast is so obvious- cereal or oatmeal, maybe even pancakes if I have the time.  My tummy abides by this menu everyday without complaint, sleepily steering me to a happy start.

And dinner?  I love it!  I mean, I cook dinner for myself nearly every night- I include all the basic food groups (most of the time) And I even take my vitamins afterwards.  I don’t ever get tired of dinner because there are so many OBVIOUS choices, and (again) the palate doth not protest…

But LUNCH?!  Gah!!!!  My stomach doesn’t want bready bundles of cold cuts, or plates of microwaveable pizza.  A hot dog is only really tasty when you’re at a baseball game, I can’t stand the thought of any more macaroni and cheese, and this is where I officially run out of ideas!

Help?

Anybody?

Please?

  1. I can’t help. I could eat lunch three meals a day.

Leave a Reply

