T-to-the-A

And the past makes up your (vivid) mind

In Playwriting, The Daily Drool on December 4, 2009 at 1:57 pm

I used to read A LOT.  I don’t anymore because I haven’t as much time- which pains me – but as I spend much of my time writing, I find that my past obsessions come back to color my present imaginings.  Even now as I work on a writing assignment for someone else, I find the many books I loved – a lot of fantasy and awe- left an indelible impression on my palate.  There is such magic to be had, and I can’t help but be tickled at the familiarity- at the synchronicity involved in landing this particular project before me; a project steeped in mystery.

Much of what I write pulls on my fascination with the theatrical and extraordinary (at least in sense that I strive to tell unique stories, stories that take people to new and adventurous places)  I don’t see the point in rehashing something already too familiar… if it’s not going to stir my own excitement and enthusiasm, why would I want to devote days, months, years of my life to its telling?  Which is why ( I think ) my work keeps me so breathless with anticipation.  I LOVE telling these stories, I rejoice in their discovery.  It’s an incredible love affair, and it’s what keeps me coming back for more, even when the telling gets tough.

And perhaps it’s the same wonder I used to experience as I picked up a new book- the joy of discovery settling all around me as I set fingers to keys…

Whatever the making, I am so thrilled to be able to be a part of this world of words… painting pictures with my muse on my shoulder, the mystical conductor tapping out time as I color in the notes…

Can you hear it?

Tap, tap, tap…

  1. I can hear it! It’s really loud and more like a THUMP-THUMP-THUMP, though!

Leave a Reply

