T-to-the-A

Feline Obesity

In The Daily Drool on September 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

Alright, following up on yesterdays horrifying observation of Sir Wormy Bottom’s bottom… I took the cats to the vet where they got vaccinated, dewormed, and I got chastised for Midnite’s, er… rotundity.  Let me just say that as a person who ADORES her cats and feels guilty for every little bump or mishap they might suffer, I had the unpleasant experience of being told that my cat was (as a result of my feeding them) too fat.

But Midnite loves to eat.  Loves it.  So much!

And sure, she could probably be more active- a fact not escaping me and my guilty conscious, but to take away her food dish?  (oh, the horror!)  Because that is what Cat Doctor suggested!  That I put the kibble out only for 15 mins in the a.m. and another 15 at night.  (Never mind poor Daredevil who has the metabolism of a small bird.)  And then he said that they would get used to it.

Used to it?  Really?  He doesn’t know Midnite at all!

I can’t imagine what kind of kitty-stalking I would be victim to… Midnite’s very vocal, very loud complaints would surely follow me wherever I went, or whenever I slept, her insistent yowls echoing in my ear at every turn… I just can’t do it.

So, I stood there, head down, as the Vet explained that Feline obesity is a serious matter.  And I looked at Midnite’s 14 lb frame and her terrified eyes and I gave her the most imperceptible of nods, “Don’t you worry Mids, that kibble ain’t going anywhere.”

If she hits 15… then we’ll talk.

Leave a Reply

