T-to-the-A

Running… it’s what’s for lunch

In The Daily Drool on September 19, 2009 at 2:53 pm

I’ve never been a fan of running- in fact, those who know me well know that if the sneakers are out it’s a good indication that this little lady has been inexcusably angered.  I think it’s because I hate running so that when the blood is boiling, it seems the only possible way to excise the anger demons.  And since I get that angry about once every twelve years, I hardly ever have to run.

But this week I’ve been out in my running shoes three times.

And yes, it’s due to unfortunate tidings, but for the first time EVER I’ve enjoyed it.  I’ve enjoyed turning off my brain and just counting my breaths.  I’ve enjoyed pushing my body so hard that it burns past the fuel and calories and into the emotions.  I’m running off my tears.  All that pent up pain has to come out one way or another and crying just seems so involuntary… so I’m running.

And I know I’m probably not doing it right.  I’m certainly not running steady- this little body has gotten soft – but I’m stretching and hydrating and leaving my shit at the door.

So while I don’t think I’ll ever develop those glazed over euphoria-eyes talking about the habit, I do feel a bit of fierce protectiveness for this new round of therapy.

  1. These past few months, through all of the muck I had been mired in, I ran more than ever before and really grew to love it. It helps the brain and soul like you wouldn’t believe. Good read…now keep running.

Leave a Reply

