T-to-the-A

Swing-Shift

In The Daily Drool on September 16, 2009 at 11:36 am

Sometimes I get a little dramatic.  Maybe it’s because I just feel everything so much.  A friend of mine looks at me when I say things like that and whistles- he’s very happy he doesn’t operate the same way.  I sigh and nod because it is difficult.  I get very caught up in what I’m feeling- whether it’s incredible joy or incredible panic – and so I ought to be a bit less melodramatic perhaps when I sit down to the keyboard, but sometimes what sounds and feels the best just comes out with… too much flourish.

So I’m writing today to just sort of hand out a waiver :  Read these posts with the understanding that I’m a bit of a sucker to strong emotion.  It captures me and then I sit down to tell you about it… it doesn’t necessarily mean the word is ending – it just might mean that I’m feeling like it will at that moment, haha.  Also, as was pointed out to me today, my highs are really high: I was at the Kennedy Center with my play, I was interviewed by the Washington Post, another of my plays is going to open in January… but the lows are pretty low:  I’m unemployed, I’m having a hard time figuring out how to get a job, etc.  So I worry a lot about which way the pendulum is swinging.

I guess it’s a good thing that so many people who read this blog care about me enough to call or send me an email when something screams “AGH!!!”  And I appreciate it!  I’m just sorry that I forget sometimes that you worry about me too.

So there’s that.  A short little note on the merits of pendulum living.

Leave a Reply

