T-to-the-A

Oh, the places I’ve been…

In The Daily Drool on September 7, 2009 at 6:57 am

As I was looking up at Lincoln’s monument yesterday, I felt a happy shiver start at the base of my neck.  It was one of those moments when your life sort of clicks in to view in front of you and you stop beating yourself up about the things you haven’t yet gotten to, you stop chastising yourself for the things you didn’t put your all into, and you just… celebrate where you’ve been.

I’ve been a lot of places… and I realized as I was staring into the President’s marble eyes, that quite a few of them have been the result of my writing:  Minneapolis, New York, Scottland, Tulsa, and now D.C.  That’s pretty good for a starving emerging playwright like myself.  And it gave me pause in my ever-critical mind to enjoy what I’ve accomplished a bit before I start steadily on to the next.

I forget to do this sometimes- consumed with a dedication sometimes frightening in it’s steadfastness- but here, in our nation’s capital I felt a little bit of pride in the pit of my belly and for once I just let it be.

Something to think about when I get back to LA unemployed and hungry for dinner…

Leave a Reply

