T-to-the-A

Life in transit

In The Daily Drool on August 19, 2009 at 10:30 am

I’ve thrown out about five, count ’em F-I-V-E, garbage bags of stuff since I’ve been home, and I’m probably not done yet.

You see, it all started because I have tunnel vision.  I literally don’t see what’s around me when I’m focused on things- so for the past four years that I’ve lived here, that’s made for a lot of wreckage.  I can’t tell you how many drafts of my first play I stumbled across in the cleaning!  I was chastising my old sentimental self when I had to give pause and remind “older, more experienced, ME” that there had been a lot of excitement and uncertainty in the writing of that thing.  I probably saved every draft so that in case the following drafts stank the place up I could always go back to a happier place.

Well, that happy place wound up eating up a lot prime real estate and I now I am very happy indeed to say that it’s not doing so any longer.

But what’s at the heart of this little venture into the wilds of under-couch and bed?  It’s probably a little something called “What the hell am I doing with myself?”  My life seems so unplanned right now and wide open that I’m feeling a deep, animalistic need to create some order.  And since my nest had gone untended for so long, it’s the perfect place to begin.

First the thinning, then the reorganizing… it’s going to be like a whole new apartment when I’m done.  And I know this because I am attacking the task with the same commitment and ferocity I attack any new play idea.  I have to get this place fixed up or I’ll go insane.

Now, on to garbage bag number six…

Leave a Reply

