T-to-the-A

Sunny Swap

In The Daily Drool on August 15, 2009 at 1:24 pm
Swap meet guns

Swap meet guns

I don’t remember the last time I went to the swap meet.  It’s certainly been a few years, although when I was younger I feel like we were there every other weekend!  There were always interesting tables set up, and I usually wound up with a new little stuffed animal, or a cool polished rock from the rock booth, or a slurpee… I had fun.

Well my dad and I walked around the place today, and it was amazing just how much STUFF people haul in there to sell!  Rows and rows of booths set up hawking everything from Crackers (yes, literally a giant stack of boxed crackers [with salted tops]), knives, broken-in cowboy boots, and guns.  What?  Guns?  YES!

Maybe I’ve been in CA too long, but it just seemed strange to see a man standing behind a table of coins, deer antlers, and three or four handguns with a rifle or two thrown in for good measure.  Need some firepower?  Head on down to the Swap!

It was a fun little trek, I didn’t buy any matchbox cars (although sure enough someone had a whole table devoted to the suckers) but I did get  a chuckle out of some of the items.

A mermaid sitting on a "Bomb" swing from the fifties

A mermaid sitting on a "Bomb" swing from the fifties

I don't know what this is- but it's for sale!

I don't know what this is- but it's for sale!

  1. I’m definitely claiming the gaunt Santa with ferrets in his wrapping-paper-pipe arms

Leave a Reply

