T-to-the-A

Monsoon Magic

In The Daily Drool on August 12, 2009 at 1:22 pm

The wind rushes by, pregnant with ozone, the smell pulling me outside to bear witness to Mother Nature’s muscle.  The cool rips past my cheek, tossing my hair in it’s wake (I’m so glad it’s grown out) sending a shiver down my back as the first drop lands splat, splash, I’m here.

One of my favorite memories of growing up is of sitting on the patio at our old homestead, the monsoons flying in with a strength unwavering.  I used to love to sit and listen… waiting for its arrival.  You could always smell it first, and then feel it coming.  The rumbling skies above sending a quiver of anticipation as the water began it’s descent, tumbling, rumbling along, unwavering in it’s lust to kiss the earth – a perfect meeting between elements.  We would sit out there enjoying the lightening splintering across the heavens as the thunder bellowed it’s warnings, the water filling the gutters and streaming up, over, and across the cement and out towards the thirsty ground.

I loved the way it all worked together – a bounty of refreshment for the dry, hardworking Arizona earth- and how it made me feel connected, cradled between cloud and sand, the magic of it all swirling around me.

Thanks be to the brief storm that thundered in this afternoon, awakening happy memories as I sat on the porch and just breathed.

  1. The monsoons are what I miss most of back east. You’re description is lovely. I remember dancing in the rain with my cousins and the smell of the dry earth being pelted by rain.
    Makes me want to be there right now.

Leave a Reply

