T-to-the-A

Reading… finally!

In The Daily Drool on August 3, 2009 at 6:59 pm

I’ve had a luxurious day full of couch and book… something I haven’t had the priveledge of doing in quite a long time.  There’s always a stack of scripts that need reading, or my own writing that needs tending, but today for some blessed reason I gave way to my inner muse and just reveled in one of the many as-yet-un-read paperbacks lining the shelves and retreated into it’s soft papery world.

Ahhh, bliss.

Not to mention the snacks.  One must always have snacks readily available for such a day as this.  I’m reminded of the young boy in Never Ending Story, hiding in the attic at school, barricaded from the storm of adolescence outside and munching on his paper-bag lunch over candlit pages.  It was magical to watch, and although I’m sitting in the well-lit living room of my adult life, I’m still enjoying cold-cuts and soda-pop like a kid…. because that’s what it feels like to take a whole day to dally in the make-believe.  Why is it that we’re submerged in a world of “Immediate” and “Available” and have less and less time to enjoy it?  Shouldn’t we be able to take more time off to breathe rather than run ourselves so ragged that we desperately need it?  When did relaxing become such a luxury and why haven’t we done anything about that?

But (sigh) I’m much too contented at the moment to worry too long on the subject.

Leave a Reply

