T-to-the-A

I just planted my flag!

In The Daily Drool on July 23, 2009 at 7:23 am

I don’t know what was going on last night, but the little romantic in me found myself a Tall-Dark-and-Handsome in my sleep, and was whispering things like “I want to discover your lips forever” and then kissing him and saying “I just planted my flag.”

I might be loosing it.

What amuses me so much is that not only were we holding on to one another everywhere we went (there were a host of odd things happening, at one point even climbing some rocks to get to my friend Amber’s bar where I had to help her carry drinks but I dropped my phone… crazy nonsense) but that I was speaking in such dime-store-novel cliches.  We already know that my mind retains some of it’s metaphorical lyricism -I’ve even woken up with bits of dialogue for plays I’m writing – but this?

Maybe it had something to do with the great anxiety I was suffering yesterday afternoon upon realizing that the kids and I have so little time left to polish up this performance piece.  That anxiety could have created some want for safety… and maybe my inner glow worm thinks safety is to be found at the bottom of a big soft doe-y pair of eyes and soft lips (and a man who won’t spit up his breakfast at such saccharin announcements as those)

Anyway, I thought it worth exploring right here, with you… if only to get you to giggle at the flag-planting line.

Leave a Reply

