T-to-the-A

Grocer Vs. Cupboard

In The Daily Drool on July 20, 2009 at 4:00 pm

An interesting thing happens in my apartment on days of particular laze…   I go hunting for goodies in the cupboards and the freezer in the hopes of forestalling a trip to the grocer.  I imagine that many of us wind up sorting just such odds and ends as I did this afternoon, but I thought it might be interesting to list some of the things I found in my pillaging:

3 bags of peanut M&Ms- I’m talking large bags.  And I don’t even eat the things, I just keep the candy dish on my counter full for guests.

Enough Stewed Tomatoes to give Italy a run for its money.  Note to self: next time you are at the store and the stewed tomatoes are on sale?  WALK AWAY.

3 mostly empty bags of cereal (rice crispies, Life, and frosted mini wheats) none of which contains enough for a real bowl of breakfast.

4 boxes of Penne Pasta.  Seriously, I think I’m all stocked up.

2 Swiss chocolate bars FROM SWITZERLAND- I carried these bricks of delight across mountains and vast open water, only to stuff them in the cupboard and forget about them for THREE YEARS!  (yes, I threw them away)

A mysterious tupperware full of Oreos.  Mysterious because I don’t remember putting them there, and also because the Oreos are still mysteriously fresh.

And about 7 cans of tomato soup.

Wow.

I’m not even going to worry about the freezer today… soup sounds just fine!

Leave a Reply

