T-to-the-A

Tired Grin

In The Daily Drool on June 30, 2009 at 10:00 pm

It’s been a while since I’ve used this much energy in a day… underwhelmed by months of unemployment, my schedule was pretty relaxed, with a satisfying amount of writing getting done, but not much else… certainly not enough to break a sweat or warrant an increase in calories.  This  past week and a half, however, has seen me sweating and developing the appetite of a small horse.

Teaching from 9-4 every day is a big commitment, the mental gymnastics alone are enough to make my belly grumble for a bigger breakfast, but come 4 o’clock and I’m ready for meal three… Supper is clocking in at plate #4, and it’s just starting to feel like I’m catching up with what I already spent last week.

It takes energy to lead these kids on imaginative journeys, make it relevant and educational, and then facilitate their own theatrical creation by whatever means necessary, because you’ve got 4 and a half weeks left, damnit, to create a piece of theater for them to perform for family and friends.  It takes energy, and it takes dedication… and you get both by really caring about the opportunity you are seizing.

I love to teach.

And no matter how tired I may be feeling, I can’t help but be thankful that I am getting to put my experience to task in such a worthwhile and inspiring endeavor.

Leave a Reply

