T-to-the-A

Old shoes, New feet

In Essays, The Daily Drool on June 25, 2009 at 10:06 pm

It’s always interesting, years after the fact, to find a new purpose for something you thought was well past.  An old dress becomes dress-up, a forgotten photograph serves as reminder to reconnect with those you’ve misplaced… Or an old lesson left mouldering in the history books coughs up something new.

Six years ago I walked into room 102 at UCLA and sat in rapt attention as my acting teacher assigned scenes.   This week, in that very same room, I stepped into his role and tingled at the unexpected symmetry; a roomful of eager eyes looking to me for guidance.

Wow.

I couldn’t help but look back at them and see myself… blissfully unawares of all the change that would come – not knowing that I would turn focus to writing, that my combined experience between then and now would lead me here, in that very same room, a new person, a new life, a new role.

Because Life is Amazing.  We worry, we fret, we plot and steer… and it takes us places we never knew we would be.  I quit acting.  Haven’t done it in years.  But here I am, responsible for teaching a slew of young hopefuls how to break down a script on their path to acting their socks off.

Of course there is some resultant stuttering on my end – the cry of a long unused engine coming back to life – along with some serious scouring of “Ye olde, but not forgotten” notebooks of yonder years.

But here I am, stepping back into an old pair of shoes with a new pair of feet.

And they feel so good.

  1. I CANNOT EVEN BEGIN TO EXPRESS HOW PROUD I AM OF YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS!!! MY CUP RUNNETH OVER! I LOVE YOU — MOM

Leave a Reply

