T-to-the-A

Marking Time

In The Daily Drool on June 15, 2009 at 6:13 pm

This weekend marks the end of my first post-graduate year, and I have to admit I’m much relieved to see it go.

I knew the transition was going to be tough, but I had no idea just how many challenges were waiting for me once I left my comfy little UCLA nest.  Now, looking back, it seem amazing that it’s only been 12 months!  12 months in which to gain and lose a job, glue my heart back together from its careless handling, master the unemployment line, cater to a production company filming in the dredges of downtown LA, and to get myself to the near finish line of a number of writing fellowships and contests, only to miss by mere inches.  It has been a tough year.

But I think I can honestly say it’s made me stronger.  No longer abiding by the uncertainty and pain that had been haunting me, I’ve been forced to grow some thicker skin and higher walls and to exercise my powers of positive thinking ( not necessarily because I believe it will manifest what I want, but because you’ve got to pull yourself through the crap somehow!  ) And you know what?  I did it.  I made it.  This year kind of sucked, but that’s because it was chock full of growing pains, and I’ve got to say that while I certainly hope I’m done with the suckiness, I am feeling a little taller.

So, as to what this, my sophomore “Grown Up” year, is like?  Who knows.  But I will tell you this, I sure hope it’s enjoyable and includes better groceries.

  1. Ah, this post makes me scared. Because I’ve just been through the hardest year of my life, so I hope I wasn’t only warming up.

Leave a Reply

