T-to-the-A

Productivity Challenge

In The Daily Drool on June 5, 2009 at 3:02 pm

One does not need to be productive every second of the day… rather, a person should learn to take pause and play.  

I forget about the need for fun, not because I don’t enjoy it, but because it seems harder and harder to come by what with life sort of calling its own shots and the fact that I feel like any second not used wisely in unwisely wasted because I have so much I want to do, to accomplish, and I’m not yet in any kind of “safe” place from which to relax.  There isn’t any solid footing beneath me.  So I feel, when I stop to look around, that the ground could give way at any moment were I to let up on my vigilance.  Where does this come from?  

I look around at friends and I see some similarly minded faces, but I also see unfurrowed brows of those who have learned how NOT to worry, and I am envious.  I envy their ability to relax in the face of this crazy, unexplainable world, and I want to master that kind of ease… which is probably contradictory to the very thing wanting to be mastered.

I think the trick for me, at this point, is learning to be gentler to myself and to allow for times of frivolity amongst all of the work.  If anyone has any pointers on how to do this, please let me know.  I have a feeling I’m going to need some help.

  1. hello! I just randomly came across this posting, and though I don’t have much advise to offer, I just wanted to say that I feel the same way. For a very long time now, I’ve managed my time accordingly in order to be productive; to make the most of my time during the day- everyday. With that being said, I’m at a point now where, unlike my friends who have been going on trips, and partying it up, I’ve invested my time in career goals, trying to plan, prepare and get ahead so that I can be successful in the future. While this work ethic and initiative to be productive all the time has its tremendous benefits, I feel I’ve lost out on my youth; to be reckless and being able to enjoy the moment for what it is.

Leave a Reply

