T-to-the-A

Retail Therapy

In Essays, The Daily Drool on May 16, 2009 at 10:46 am

I’m sure I’ve spoken of this before… but there is something quite soothing, in the midst of a crisis, to buying yourself a new pair of shoes, or a shiny new handbag.  I can’t explain it, it’s almost like rewarding yourself for the trial of going through whatever it is you are going through.

Well, I went to Sam’s club while I was home, my intention to buy a jumbo sized box of garbage bags and some jumbo reusable bags for my groceries (since it’s so much easier to reuse bags and it’s better for the environment.  And you can fit more into them, making for fewer hikes between car and apartment)  So there I am, amidst the aisles and aisles, the towering aisles, just mesmerized by all of the stuff.  

And I start thinking about how easy it is to spend money on giant cartons of binder clips and brads… that the excitement over the price of a jumbosized box of Tide isn’t practical, but there it is anyway, rumbling inside my chest “Wow!  Only $10.99?”  I mean, I’ve got cookie pans in my cart and I only make cookies at Christmas time…  and then it hit me, I was retail-therapy-ing myself at SAM’S CLUB!   Which I then decided was maybe better than going to the mall and buying more shoes, because at least I will make good use out of that giant box of detergent.  And the binder clips.

But I put the cookie pans back.

Leave a Reply

