T-to-the-A

Round and round…

In Essays, The Daily Drool on May 10, 2009 at 12:12 am

He didn’t seem the type to run me ragged, but at the end of the day I have to say my tongue was hangng out and my feet were tired.  All that energy poured into something that never went anywhere… who said working out at the gym was going to be  fun?

Always game for a new thing (and feeling a little guilty over the Tiffany-shaped impression in the leather-backed chair residing in front of my computer) I agreed… thinking to myself “Sure, a little workout would be nice”  But I didn’t think I was in for a marathon!

Where, praytell, is the joy in running on a device that goes nowhere?  How does one find pleasure in sweating beneath an air conditioning duct next to other sweaty human beasts wathing Oprah on the big screen and listening to the latest beat on their ipods?  Why did I pull on my Nikes and head here?

Because he’s got a nice smile and I was feeling lazy.

But wow, what a lesson (as I drag my stiff legs up to my chin and groan with every twinge) I don’t like turning my body over to machines.  I don’t like running in place.  Heck, I don’t like to run period.  I mean, I’m not inexperienced with the gym routine, but spending that much time running in place, not going anywhere, was excrutiating for my on-the-go mentality.

So next time?  Next time I will gently suggest a hike, or a swim, or a friendly game of tag… anything but the florescent, disinfectant, work-out hubs of the mildly suburban, overly metropolitan elite.

Leave a Reply

