T-to-the-A

Another one bites the dust

In Dating, Essays, The Daily Drool on May 3, 2009 at 3:46 pm

I uttered a strange phrase this week.  I didn’t know it was coming until it jumped, hair straight up and crazy-like, from my lips.  You see, cute-as-a-button turned out to be his only trick, and as he earnestly told me he didn’t want to break my heart, my heart let out a hearty laugh and my lips chucked forth something akin to this:  “Trust me, you are dizzyingly incapable of wreaking that kind of damage on this heart.”  

I don’t know if it was the confidence with which he confessed his concern, or my own newly installed steel fence, but somewhere in all his chatter a guffaw of mighty proportions was building.  I mean, who says that?  After four dates?  And what does that even mean?  

And what does it mean that my heart thinks it’s wearing some sort of steel plated armor?

Because although I’m not about to remove the titanium shell currently keeping things safe, I’m certainly not certain it’s healthy to stroll around so guarded… then again I have always been quite selective when it comes to my mates.  I’ve always been cautious… the flip side being that once I make up my mind as to a suitors… suitability… I generally tend to shed all armor, give them a key to the castle, and then wonder how it was the man got such a hold over me in the first place.  

So, maybe this is a good thing.  That I feel no hurt or insult…  Maybe it’s due to my holding of the reigns that I feel only surprise.  And perhaps this is a good time to start playing like the men do – to keep the power and the control in my court – and in order to do that, I need to keep the keys to this castle in my own pocket.

  1. Yeah! Feel the power, girl. Use it.

Leave a Reply

