T-to-the-A

A glass half full

In Essays, The Daily Drool on April 23, 2009 at 5:35 pm

So, I’ve been thinking lately (thinking A LOT) about life and the huge, ghosty mountain before me.  I’ve been thining about it so much, that I’ve forgotten to look behind me, at how far I’ve already come.

People like to say “Don’t look back”… but I think it’s VITAL to do so in this creative world we artists inhabit.  It’s incredibly important to remember the victories you’ve already celebrated.  To look at the glass you’ve already filled halfway up and celebrate the filling!  

Because it’s easy to focus on goals with a ferocity that would surprise a bulldog, to toil and sweat in their reaching, to focus so much on the as-yet “un-had” that you forget about the things you are already holding. It’s hard to clap yourself on the back and tell yourself “Good Job”.  (So difficult in fact that I won’t even try to talk about what happens when you come upon a rest-stop, so focused are you on the traveling.)  

So, that’s what I’m doing this week.  I’m taking stock of the cupboard, tidying up a few odds and ends, and patting myself on the back.  It’s making me feel all the more prepared for this road I’m already traveling… because the secret is this This mountain I keep looking up at?  I’ve been scaling it for years already, and I’m a hell of a lot closer to the top than the wide-eyed-me that began it.

  1. Yes, we often HAVE to remember how far we’ve come, how we’re now failing at a much higher level than we failed at before. Because really, it’s progress, not destinations, that keep us going creatively, right??

  2. Yes, progress is the magic word. You wrote some really great stuff about this on ChasingMist. Great example of how our victories can sometimes become bigger challenges, and how we need to remember that every hurdle raises the bar for what’s yet to come.

Leave a Reply

