T-to-the-A

Something about the “Yumm”

In Essays, The Daily Drool on April 18, 2009 at 10:05 am

I didn’t ask for anything, and that’s exactly what I got.  A great big bowl of it, staring up at me, it’s vacant little eyes mirroring the silent rumble of “The Want.”  

You’d think by now I’d learn to speak up for myself, the unhinge these lips so hesitant to give instruction.  “Feed me!”  But the shrink on my shoulder was too calming a presence to unleash the (by now) growling monkey inside.

So I smiled, instead, and told him to pass the salt.

You see, a friend once told me that women need to be fed… emotionally… or they go crazy, and I think he’s right.  We need to be nurtured, appreciated, we need to feel connected, whereas a man needs to by reminded physically that we love and adore them.  But regardless of which side you sit, if you’re not speaking up, how is anyone ever to know you’re not being fed?

I consider this as I spoon the non-existent broth to my lips.

I consider just how to shake loose my own silence.

Leave a Reply

