T-to-the-A

Be careful what you wish for…

In Essays, Playwriting, The Daily Drool on March 14, 2009 at 9:15 pm

I’ve always been a bit cautious on the “Make a wish” track… perhaps it was all those Aesop’s Fables as a kid, or too many “Naughty Genie” cartoons, but it always seemed to me that if you’re going to ask the universe for a favor, you should be as specific as possible in the hopes of avoiding a “Be careful what you wish for” pie-in-face incident.

Well, I said I wanted to get paid to write- and since graduating- I’ve had a succession of jobs providing me with ample time to write.  

HA-larious.

I mean, what writer wouldn’t be tickled to have a job that allows her/him plenty of make-out time for their laptop?  I’m certainly thankful.  At this very moment in fact, I am sitting in the craft services room at my new job, having just refreshed the coffee and popped a rice crispy treat between my teeth, and am tappy-tap-tapping away whilst getting paid to maintain the mountain of munchies.  Not a bad gig, if you ask me.  

But I imagine that the next time I throw an aggravated sigh towards the heavens with a “I just want to get paid to write!”  I might want to make a slight adjustment…  Perhaps something along the lines of “I-want-to-sell-screenplays, get-my-plays-published/produced-and-make-enough-money-that-I-don’-have-to-serve-food/sling-lattes/or-worry-about-having-a-‘day-job’-because-my-writing-is-paying-the-bills-and-funding-the-fun!” kind of request. 

An improvement?  I think so.  Fail safe?  Well… I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

