T-to-the-A

Still loving it!

In Essays, Playwriting, The Daily Drool on March 5, 2009 at 12:15 am

So I’m sitting in a room full of (mostly) college freshmen who are putting a whole heck of a lot of enthusiasm into their first run through of my play, In the Company of Jane Doe, and I can’t help but get swept up in the energy!  There they are, these nine shining faces, so eager to embrace the material that I have written… and they’re all getting it! They’re all picking up on the rythm, the beats, the humor.  It’s like alka seltzer for the writer’s soul.  It’s wonderful. 

And I gotta say, after multiple read-throughs of this script, after a WONDERFUL production at UCLA, I’m still not tired of this thing!  The joy that actors express at playing the characters I’ve imagined is thrilling, and has sustained me through every workshop and rehearsal.  I’ve probably got the whole play memorized, I’ve heard it so much… and indeed, can reference just about any point in the script if given a hint of the line being searched for… yet I’m still giggling, still guffawing, still lapping it all up as this new batch of voices takes on the play.

I wrote Jane Doe my first year of grad school, and it was a difficult labor, I tell you that, but what a wonder it is to see your baby loved, played with, enjoyed… And what a relief to continue to love it yourself!  

Now, if someone would just produce the damn thing, I could enjoy it with lights and costumes, and all the other ingredients that make it a play.  For that’s the thing about writing scripts… until someone buys the wood and hires the crew, it’s all just blueprints.  

But we sure are having fun with these blueprints in Tulsa!

Leave a Reply

