T-to-the-A

An un-Idle mind…

In Essays, Playwriting, The Daily Drool on March 2, 2009 at 2:11 pm

Shun idleness.  It is a rust that attaches itself to the most brilliant metals.  ~Voltaire

It seems to me that, lately, I’ve had a fair amount of “AGH!” raging through my brain, and it’s probably the result of a little thing I like to call “Too-much-time-itus.”  I occasionally forget about the evils of this malady until I, oh,  lose my job or something like that and am left with oodles of hours with which to run cicrles round myself and my confusing life.  For although I can be particularly miserly with my minutes, having 4 weeks of them to stew in has proven a complicated thing.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I’ve enjoyed some of the freedom.  I mean, I love to sleep and have gotten to catch up on a lot of “Zz”s.  I have been able to work on my writing which is FANTASTIC.  I got to take a mini holiday to the homeland for some time with the fam, and I finally got all caught up with Tivo… but part of the risk of inhabiting a creative mind is that the mind gets restless, and irritable, and is particularly skilled at imagining every damn possibility of every damn little hiccup… it’s enough to drive you up a wall.

You see, as an artist, you generally have a very unique perspective on the world.  It’s that perspective that drives your ego to shout “Here, here, I’ve got something to say, paint, write, sing…” etc.  And when that ego isn’t shouting or has too much time to think… well, let’s just say all that passion and joi de vivre can become quite venomous.  It can turn on itself and all that time becomes time to self-persecute, or obsess over your worries… it’s just plain unhealthy.  

So, I keep writing, but it’s becoming obvious to me that it’s time to cut the electrical umbilical chord and rejoin the human race.  And for that I say “Thank God I start a new job next week”

Nobody can think straight who does not work.  Idleness warps the mind.  ~Henry Ford

  1. I love this! I too as of late feel as though my mind is a ’72 Buick from the midwest with years and years of salt thrust upon it every winter. Lets change this!

Leave a Reply

