T-to-the-A

Giggle me this

In Essays, The Daily Drool on February 22, 2009 at 1:36 pm

I’m at the airport and there is a little red-headed cherub giggling his way right past all the bored, slightly grumpy, older passengers.  His laugh is so hearty, so wholesome, that it’s contagious and renders me giddy.  When is the last time you laughed without restraint and wound up breathless?  

“Tickle me daddy!” is his gaspy shout when dad’s fingers get tired.  The little guy simply does not want to stop.  

So I’m sitting there, smiling, and occasionally laughing along with the little guy, and I’m thinking to myself that “Yes, life should be this simple!”  

It’s so easy to get bogged down by the things that aren’t working correctly, the bills that aren’t ending, the steak that isn’t cooked right…  to dedicate hours and hours of our time worrying about potential outcomes that we forget to grab hold of the good things and roll on the ground with our pants twisting ’round us, and our hair in a tangle, and just laugh.  

Because really, most of the time, everything is alright right now.

  1. Soooo… do you want me to tickle you? Is that what I’m supposed to get out of this? 😉 Thank you, Tiff. It’s a nice reminder.

  2. only if you promise not to make me pee my pants!

Leave a Reply

