T-to-the-A

Reflections on a dirty road…

In Essays, The Daily Drool on February 6, 2009 at 7:44 am

This is when I love LA.

For those of you not here right now (or not reading this right now) it’s raining.  And although I’m sure it was hellacious on the commute, driving home at 11 o’clock tonight the city looked, well… peaceful. 

There were hardly any cars between the revving and the parking, but those that I did pass or follow had magnificent sparkly ghosts trailing them… almost as though the rainy freeway was reflecting back a happier, healthier, less congested Los Angeles, and I was being given a glimpse.   

But it’s not just the rain.  It’s the silence too.  The cloudy cushion of “Shhhh” that is hovering right now…  It’s so low and heavy that I couldn’t help but feel tucked in- “Sleep tight, we’re not going anywhere… yet.”  It’s the same feeling I get when I wake up really early on  Sunday or come home really late; LA is beautiful with the volume turned down.  

So while every news channel in the city hunts for ill-prepared Los Angelenos to interview about this “Wet and wild weather”  I’ve every intention of enjoying the damp uncertainties of our Los Angeles rain-clouds.  

At least until I get stuck in traffic.

  1. “L.A. is beautiful with the sound turned down”

Leave a Reply

