T-to-the-A

Feet don’t fail me now…

In Essays, Photography, The Daily Drool on February 5, 2009 at 9:06 pm
Headed Home to Roost

Heading Home to Roost

I don’t know why, but something about this picture makes me smile.

Maybe it’s because my shoes look like they have more direction than I do right now.  They know where they’re headed; they’re headed home to roost, to rest, to reeeeee-lax.  

I look too far ahead of myself right now and I see panic.  

I remember when I was about 24, crying about some sort of slight something or other, my mom told me “Oh, Tiffany, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up” and I looked at her with utter amazement!  Because here was a woman who who owned her own business and who, as far as I could tell, had absolutely (almost) everything T-O-G-E-T-H-E-R.

But I think of that little tidbit every now and again, because it speaks of something oft verboten… a little secret that no one likes to share (and certainly not anything they teach you in school) – that most people spend their whole lives chasing dreams and working towards goals, and really hoping that they will start to feel (any day now please) like a “Grown Up” – when in reality, “Grown Up” isn’t a destination, but the whole damn frustrating path!  

Because we are constantly evolving (hopefully) and those “Markers” that we use to measure our maturity are really just new, more complicated (usually more expensive) challenges – They don’t come with directions, we usually don’t know if applying effort A to task B will result in success or a fiery explosion, but we press on anyway, because we are such-and-such years old, and that’s what people our age do…. right?

Well, yeah… but that doesn’t mean anyone else has any better understanding of the “Why”s and “How”s than you do.  

So, maybe I see comfort and ease in the march of childish things… maybe I see safety and protection behind me as I march ever onward towards the great big blur of “Tomorrow”… but I also see friendly faces around me, heading into the blur together.

And that makes me laugh, because if there’s something you need more than ever as a “Grown Up” it’s good company to compare notes with, remind you that you’re human, and pass you the bottle when the explosions come.

Leave a Reply

